FEA Practice Guidance

OMB - Office of E-Gov & IT - FEAPMO


The Federal Enterprise Architecture (FEA) Practice Guidance describes important concepts architects can use with stakeholders to deliver value to the business and improve results in agency mission areas. The guidance provides overviews of architecture concepts, descriptions of the content included in architecture work products, and direction on developing and using architecture.

The FEA Practice Guidance is not meant to be prescriptive, but to offer concepts to be applied using a variety of architectural frameworks and methodologies. The guidance does not cover enterprise architecture (EA) development and maintenance since there is already a broad body of knowledge on these topics.

There are four main sections of the FEA Practice Guidance:

  • Section 1: Overview: Provides a high-level overview of EA concepts and principles.
  • Section 2: Introducing Segment Architecture: Describes segment architecture concepts, the content included in segment architecture, and how to use segment architecture.
  • Section 3: Developing Segment Architecture: Provides guidance on how to develop segment architecture, when one should be developed, and who should participate in its development.
  • Section 4: Enterprise Architecture Transition Strategy: Describes what is included in an EA transition strategy and provides guidance on developing and using an EA transition strategy.

For additional information, appendices are also included:

  • Appendix A: Key Terms: Defines EA terms and concepts used in the FEA Practice Guidance.
  • Appendix B: Reference Information: Additional information about the concepts described in the FEA Practice Guidance.

(About the FEA Practice Guidance, Section 1: Overview)